Serial Box Presents: Your Portal to Another World with The Writers Room from Beatrix Greene

Primary tabs

  • Remind Me
  • Add To My Calendar
  • Print
  • Share

Program Type:

Writing

Age Group:

Adults , Teens

Program Description

About this event:

Join TCPL and Serial Box once a month for a series of live readings and Q&A's with their authors. This event features The Haunting of Beatrix Greene with authors Rachel Hawkins, Ash Parsons, and Vicky Alvear Schecter:

Beatrix Greene has made a name for herself in Victorian England as a reputable spiritual medium, but she’s a fraud: even she knows ghosts aren’t real. But when she’s offered a lucrative job by James Walker—a scientist notorious for discrediting pretenders like her—Beatrix takes the risk of a lifetime. If her séance at the infamously haunted Ashbury Manor fools him, she will finally have true financial freedom. If she fails, her secret will become her public shame.

But James has his own dark secrets, and he believes only a true medium can put them to rest. When Beatrix’s séance awakens her real gift—and with it, a vengeful spirit—James finds that the answers he seeks are more dangerous than he could have imagined. Together, with a group of supernatural sleuths, Beatrix and James race to settle the ghost’s unrest before it strikes— or else they might not make it out of the haunted manor alive.

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins, along with Ash Parsons and Vicky Alvear Shecter, weaves darkness, death, and a hint of desire into this suspenseful mystery for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Crimson Peak.

All attendees at this event will get access to Season 1 for free with a Serial Box account. Learn more at Serial Box online.

This is free and open to the public, and will be offered via Zoom. 

Join Zoom Meeting: https://zoom.us/j/94369656105?pwd=d2c5UjNMTlJIS2RmaFVSSFBveFNHQT09
Meeting ID: 943 6965 6105
Passcode: 265024
Dial by your location
        +1 646 558 8656 US (New York)

 

Serial Box offers addictive, well-produced sci-fi and fantasy that you can listen to or read, delivered to your device in bite-sized chunks. Learn more at Serial Box online.

 

Rachel Hawkins is the author of Rebel Belle and the New York Times bestselling series Hex Hall. Born in Virginia and raised in Alabama, Rachel taught high school English for three years before becoming a full-time writer.

Ash Parsons is a graduate of Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Clown College as well as other, more traditional schools. She is a PEN America Literary Award Winner for the Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship. Ash previously taught English to middle and high school students. Ash lives in Alabama with her family. She is also the author of Girls Save the World in This One, Still Waters, and Holding On to You, previously published as The Falling Between Us.

Vicky Alvear Shecter is the author of two nonfiction books about the ancient world: ALEXANDER THE GREAT ROCKS THE WORLD, a VOYA Honor Pick for Nonfiction, and CLEOPATRA RULES!. A docent in the Ancient History department of the Carlos Museum of Art, she lives in Avondale Estates, Georgia.

 

If you have any questions, please contact Sophia McKissick at smckissick@tcpl.org.